Skip to content

I Want to Sew Like Project Runway

Such a lofty goal for someone who has never used a sewing machine before, eh? I have been following this season’s episodes of PR (go Anya!) and I am always amazed at how fast these people can whip up an outfit, sometimes two, in a matter of hours. I want to have that ability!

I bought myself a sewing machine earlier this summer but it has since been sitting on my work table begging to be used. Well the weather has started to turn blah again which means I will be spending more time indoors (at least until ski season), which means I won’t have any excuse to not get my sewing on. Hopefully I’ll be blogging more too.

So I was looking around for some cool patterns online to get my creative juices flowing. How about any of these for a first project? I’ll probably end up making something silly like a table napkin set but I suppose there’s nothing wrong with aiming high.

Hooded scarf (pattern available at clotilde.com)

Pleated Tote (pattern available at clotilde.com)

Tinley Road Cape from PiperLime
(looks like you can make this out of one big piece of fabric. Should be easy enough right?)

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anjelina Saint #

    I am exactly the same!
    I can not sew to save my life, and I really can not believe how the people on Project Runway do it! It’s unbelievable and I want to be exactly like them!
    It has been over a year since you made this post and I am really excited to hear how you went? What have you made? Are you like a pro now!? Hope that you have built up your confidence to sew! (: x

    January 1, 2013
    • Hi there! I have made a few things… a bag, a dog bed…just the simple stuff! Nothing like Project Runway. 🙂

      January 2, 2013
  2. oscar galicia #

    go for it yel. as steve jobs said “…have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. they somehow already know what you truly want to be.”

    October 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

