Skip to content

Take That, Plastic Bag.

Hello friends! Sorry for being in blog-hibernation all winter. I have been occupied with other things and haven’t had the chance to write anything these past few months. But I’m still here and I do have a few things that I’ve been meaning to share. Also, you may have noticed that I revamped the look of my blog. I’m still trying to fix a few kinks here and there but so far I am liking the look. What do you think?

So to get back into the swing of things, I’d like to share with you my first sewing project of the year.  I had spent Christmas with Breezy’s family and got free lessons in pattern reading from his mom, and when I got back to Seattle I was itching to get my hands on my machine. I decided that my very first project would be a grocery bag, because it sounded simple enough that there’s no way I could mess it up (right?), and in an effort to wean our household off of plastic bags, I figured I could use a few more of these. I got this pattern set at JoAnn’s and picked pattern C to start with. This called for a yard of cotton fabric, 1/2″ double-fold bias tape, and one slow weekend. I did not document the steps for this project however, but here’s a similar one on Instructables that you can use.

The pattern I used was pretty straightforward, except for the bias tape part. I could not for the life of me figure out how to do an inside corner. After some jerry-rigging I managed to pull it off, albeit a little sloppy. Below is the finished product. The stitching is not perfect, but it will do for right now!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I love the yellow stitching on the bias tape. I have never thought of using a contrasting color. Great idea!

    February 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

