Skip to content

Save-the-Date Pulpboard Coasters

Hi everyone! So we finally got our coasters last week and we couldn’t be more pleased with how they turned out. If you’re having a casual wedding like us, coaster save-the-dates might fit the bill for you. They are fun and functional, and very fitting for a cocktail party reception. Letterpress printing adds another level of interest to it, transforming your message into a tactile piece of art.

I just finished sending these out to my portion of the guest list yesterday and I’m excited for everyone to receive it. Two things that Brian* and I agreed to incorporate in the design for the coasters: our pets, and typewriter-style fonts (he was very adamant about the latter). After we came to a consensus on the final design, I think the rest of the pieces came together pretty easily.

The coaster was designed in Illustrator. If you’re doing the same make sure to convert all the text into outlines (this is a neat trick that I had learned) prior to sending off the file to the letterpress folks. This alleviates font hassles, in case they don’t have the specific ones that you’re using.

Letterpress is fairly inexpensive contrary to popular belief. The trick is to limit your color palette. The more colors you incorporate in your design, the more expensive it gets. A color is counted every time a separate printing printing plate is needed, so if you’re a budget-conscious bride it’s best to keep things simple.

Our funny little postage stamp was Brian’s brilliant idea. It still cracks me up every now and then. Below are some photos of the final product (with some personal info deleted/blurred). I also included some info on where we had them made at the end of this post. I hope you’ll be inspired to make one for your own shindig. Cheers!

Original design: First Bar (all rights reserved!)
Letterpress printing: Laughing Owl Press
A2 kraft envelopes (100% recycled): Laughing Owl Press
Postage: https://www.usps.com/send/create-mail-and-postage.htm
Rubber stamp return address: rubberstamps.net
Awesome typewriter-style fonts that we used: Roger White Typewriter (the date on the coaster), and Typewriter Condensed (the address portion of the rubber stamp)
Colors used: Peach (Pantone DS 70-3U), and Brown (C55 M60 Y65 K40)

———-

*I think this is the first time I’ve used Brian’s real name in this blog. Eh. I figured it’s about time you all get to know him!

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Tracy! I also ordered Save-The-Date coasters from Laughing Owl as well. Are your envelopes A2 sized? And do you recall the postage rate? Thanks in advance! 🙂

    August 7, 2013
    • Hi Betty, Noelle here. Not quite sure if you were directing the question to me but the envelopes I used for mine are A2, and the postage rate was only 46 cents.

      August 8, 2013
      • Thank you, Noelle! You’re awesome. Apologies for the name mix-up! 😀

        August 8, 2013
  2. tracy #

    how do I order some?

    July 31, 2013
    • Hi Tracy, sorry I don’t sell invitations! Nor is the design for sale. However, the Laughing Owl Press (where I had these letterpressed) should be able to custom-make something similar for you! Give them a holler! http://laughingowlpress.com/

      August 1, 2013
  3. Wow they look so great! I love that they’re coming from your fur babies 🙂

    April 20, 2013
  4. Downstairs neighbor #

    Those coasters are awesome! You can’t show it in the blog, but the texture is very cool too.

    April 19, 2013
  5. I know you will be very happy as that date is my wedding anniversary!

    April 18, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Invitations | First Bar
  2. | First Bar

Leave a Reply

