Skip to content

Chunky Tomato Salsa

I think the reason why some people prefer cooking over baking is because cooking offers a lot more room for improvisation. Whereas baking is more of an exact science and demands that you follow the instructions right to a tee, cooking allows you to develop the dish as you go, adding and subtracting ingredients and taste testing every so often until the desired product is achieved. I wing it a lot when I’m cooking, especially when I don’t have enough of the required ingredients on hand (sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t but the boy can eat almost anything and so far I haven’t yet produced something that was too awful that he ran away screaming). When I whipped up this tomato salsa I consulted several different recipes and each called for several pounds of tomatoes, and since I only had 10 (tomatoes) I had to modify the quantities of the rest of the ingredients to make it work. And it did and it turned out wonderful. And I also personally think it’s hard to screw up salsa. Below is a list of the ingredients, as best as I can remember:
Image
Ingredients:

10 large tomatoes (cored, deskinned and chopped)
2 large poblano peppers (broiled, deskinned, deseeded and chopped)
1/2 of a large onion, chopped
2 jalapeño peppers, deseeded and chopped
1/2 cup chopped cilantro, loosely packed
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar*
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp dried oregano
Pinch of cumin

(*Note that if you plan to can salsa, you will need more vinegar to keep the peppers from spoiling. Consult a recipe especially made for canning)

Steps:
Mix all of the ingredients in a pot and bring to a boil, then simmer for 15 minutes. Keep tasting every so often and adjust the spices and seasonings until you achieve the desired taste. If you want a lot of heat in your salsa you can skip deseeding the jalapeños and throw it all in the pot, seeds and all. I felt mine ended up too mild so I rectified this by adding pepper flakes towards the end of the cook time.

I skipped the canning part since I only got about 3 pints out of it, and salsa never lasts very long in this household. In fact I think this will all be gone before next weekend.

Did you get some fresh ripe tomatoes this summer? What did you do with them?

Best source: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/canned_tomato_salsa/

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Looks yummy.

    October 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

