Skip to content

Digital Textile Printing at Spoonflower

Since I recently got into the craft of sewing, I have discovered that great fabric designs are hard to come by. Most of the stuff that they sell at fabric chains are either too old fashioned or too cutesy for my taste. If you look hard you can find some really cool ones at independent stores around the neighborhood, but still the selections seem pretty limited. I thought about designing my own fabrics but the idea of setting up silk screens and emulsions to print multi-colored designs sounded like a pretty daunting endeavor. And given the limited work space I have at home, it just made the idea seem more intimidating.

Enter Spoonflower. The only thing I can say is “Where have you been all my life and why haven’t I discovered you sooner?” I guess I’ve been sleeping under a rock all this time but let me tell you, this website is a godsend and I thank Google for bringing it up to my attention. In a nutshell, Spoonflower makes it possible for people to design, print and sell their own fabric. So not only does it serve as a source for great fabric for all your crafting needs, it’s also a platform for designers to showcase and sell their own work.

How awesome is this!

If anyone out there has tried this service I would love to hear what you think about it. I can’t wait to try it myself. In the meantime, check out some of these really cool designs from the awesome designers over at Spoonflower (Click on each screenshot to go to the designer’s store):

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve seen people come up with some prettty amazing stuff on spoonflower, and have been wanting to try it out myself! Can’t wait to see what you come up with

    June 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fabric Design Inspirations: Autumn Leaves and Koi Fish | First Bar

Leave a Reply

