Skip to content

Grocery Bag

A friend and I took a beginner sewing class last month. Our instructor was this older guy covered in tattoos who made a living sewing burlesque costumes for performers and actors around Seattle. We didn’t get to sew burlesque costumes however, but we did get to make a cool bag with pockets and handles, all from just 1 yard of fabric. The intent of the class was to get acquainted with pattern reading, basic hemming and basic sewing machine functions, so the bag construction itself is pretty basic. You sewing experts out there can probably whip one up with your eyes closed!

Here’s what I used for fabric:
3/4 yard 60″ Printed Heavy Weight Cotton (I picked one with a green geometric pattern)
1/4 yard 60″ Contrasting Heavy Weight Cotton (I picked dark brown)

Basic tools needed:
Scissors
Pins
Seam Ripper
12″ to 24″ ruler
Chalk or Fabric Pen
Thread (I used green, and it looks really great against the brown fabric!)
Sewing machine
Iron

I didn’t take progress photos because I wasn’t sure if that was allowed in class, but I want to share with you some photos of the finished product (below):

Since this bag didn’t have any lining, I had to do something with the raw edges to keep them from fraying. My sewing machine does not come with an overcast stitch, so I used a zigzag stitch instead.

I wasn’t sure how the contrasting thread would turn out, but I took a leap of faith and went ahead with the green and it turned out really well. I’m working on modifying the pattern for this bag to include an inner lining, or at least a french seam and sturdier handles. I’d be happy to share it with you all (after I do a test run of course), if anyone out there is interested in making one. So stay tuned for that.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. jamie #

    Im interested in your modifications! I liked your method of cleaning up the frayed edges. Let me know when you’ve perfected the lining. Looks nice!

    May 30, 2012
  2. It looks GREAT!!!

    May 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

