Skip to content

DIY: Fabric Covered Pots

A fun and inexpensive way to spruce up your terracotta planters is to wrap them with fabric (and these make great housewarming presents too!). I stumbled upon a few websites and blogs that show you how to do it, and to my surprise it was a lot harder than I thought.

Getting the fabric tight around the pots was the most challenging part for me, and my first several attempts were less than spectacular. In fact, they were pretty damn sloppy. I had to ruin two pots before I finally got the technique down. Tip: have a towel on your lap to wipe your hands off of excess mod podge as you work around the pot!

Full instructions here:
Emmaline Bride

Christine Chitnis

Photo documentation of my efforts here:

I followed about 90 percent of the instructions on Christine Chitnis’ blog (thank you Christine!), except that I cut the fabric to size after wrapping it around the pot (much easier that way in my opinion), let it dry, and then I coated the entire pot with the mod podge to seal it all the way through and give it a painted-on look.

tada!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Really a cute idea!

    March 14, 2013
  2. Oh, and I pinned it! 🙂

    May 30, 2012
  3. I MUST try this! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    May 30, 2012
  4. Ashley #

    Those look awesome! You are so creative!

    July 19, 2011
  5. I love it! Thank you so much. It’s wonderful getting homemade gifts that are originals =)

    July 19, 2011
  6. What a cute idea!! I would have never thought of it!

    July 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

