Skip to content

Design Candy: DIY Coat Racks

You can never have too many coat racks. At least that’s always the case in my home. When every hook is occupied I fall into the habit of draping my clothes (those that aren’t dirty enough for the hamper) on the door knobs, arm chairs,  the sofa, the shower curtain. It drives Breezy nuts, but then he tends to leave his on the floor. That drives me nuts. I’m not particularly crazy about store-bought coat racks, unless of course if they’re Eames Hang-It-Alls*. But since I don’t want to spend a fortune on one, then DIY is the way to go. I have seen some clever ones that people have made out of common household materials, and I have rounded up a few of my favorites here and hope you get inspired too! What will you make yours out of?

Vintage Trophy Coat Rack on Design Sponge
Click HERE for the full how-to

Salvaged Wood Coat Rack on Re-Nest
Click HERE for the full how-to

Vintage Yard Stick Coat Rack by Mandi (my favorite!)
Check out this DIY project on her blog HERE

Drift Wood (the PNW has this in abundance!)
First Photo: from Canadian House and Home
Second Photo: from Apartment Therapy

Peace-Love-RockOn-ForkYou by JJevensen on Etsy

*the Charles and Ray Eames Hang-It-All.
Ah, I wouldn’t mind having one of these in my entryway. Design Within Reach is having a Herman Miller sale from June 3 to the 13th. You can drool over their furniture HERE. Below are bathroom hooks that echo the design of this midcentury modern piece.

Bathroom Hooks by Elsie Marley

One Comment Post a comment
  1. NICE!!!

    May 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

