Skip to content

Transforming a Boring Wall

Remember that wall in my living room that I wanted to paint  a Martha Stewart shade of turquoise? After months of going back and forth on the perfect color swatch, I finally painted the damn thing. Except that it’s not turquoise anymore. It’s yellow. Yep! A bright spicy banana peppery kind of yellow. And I love it (I know, I am as changeable as the weather)!

So! To take my yellow wall up another level, I decided to go all out and give it a little bit of artistic treatment. And you know, I really wanted to see how I could use blue painter’s tape to its full potential. So I masked out a silhouette of twigs* (or bamboo stalks, or however you may interpret the final product below), painted over it, and voila! I give you– urban chic! If this wall were an outfit, I would want to wear it all over town.

The trick to making it work is to pick something random, something that doesn’t require consistency and symmetry. This way you’ll never mess up! Unlike this chevron pattern I saw recently on apartment therapy–it looks really cool, but also requires you to be very precise.

This project took me about two days (not counting the 4 months of indecisiveness) to finish. And it’s relatively inexpensive. All you really need is:

A bucket of paint
A lot of blue tape
A little creativity
Your 80’s playlist

And you’re pretty much set! Do sketch out your pattern first before anything else, so you can see the big picture and make sure you like it. And for your paint color, choose something bold and totally out of your comfort level. It’s very liberating I tell you.

Happy painting!

*the graphic below is one of several quick studies I did, before my boyfriend suggested I do trees instead. I thought it was a fantastic idea and had to incorporate it somehow.

Step 1: Prepping the wall

Step 2: Paint
I painted most of it at night, which is why the colors in the following photos are a little off

The fun part: Peeling the tape off
make sure the paint is completely dry. I’d wait at least 12 hours before doing so.

the first stalk emerges…

Good to know!
the blue tape doesn’t hold up very well when using a roller. I think it’s because the roller soaks up too much paint, and it saturates the tape. If I could do this all over again I would probably apply the paint very carefully with a brush, so the edges come off clean and crisp. I panicked a little bit when I saw how the paint had seeped through the tape, as you can see in the photo below, but I ended up liking the raggedy edges anyway. It gave a nice bit of texture to it!

The finished product!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ashley #

    It looks fabulous Noelle! And I love your artistic pictures along the way! The only thing missing is a picture of Sumo walking through the paint tray. 😉 Can’t wait to see it in person!

    January 8, 2011
  2. oscar galicia #

    i love it yel. very imaginative and think a lot of fun to make. your future as an interior decorator looks bright. keep ’em coming.love you.

    December 29, 2010

Leave a Reply

