Skip to content

Holy Cilantro Explosion

cilantro and basil in the square pot

I love the concept of growing your own vegetables and herbs. I always find it annoying how grocery stores make me buy an entire bunch of a single kind of herb, when I really only need a tiny amount of it for whatever dish I’m making, and then the rest of it just ends up rotting in my fridge. With your own garden you get to pick the exact amount that you need! No wastage. Plain and simple. And best of all, it’s all organic and you can rest easy knowing that there aren’t any pesticides in your food. About two months ago B and I went to the nursery and bought a few herbs and vegetable seedlings. He got three varieties of peppers and is growing them indoors (both of us live in multistory apartment buildings and neither one of us has garden space). They  have gotten really big now and are bearing tons of fruit. We also started an urban rooftop garden here at work and I am happy to report that it is doing so well! My cilantro plant in fact is doing way too well, it looks like it has taken over the entire pot.

7/13: harvested some lettuce, radishes, and basil

I went up the roof to check on it today not realizing how big it has gotten. I was a bit surprised to find out that it has grown up to 3 feet tall. Hmm. I should have put it in its own pot and planted the Thai basil, which is not doing so well, in another. In the meantime, I have to figure out what to do with this bountiful harvest. Maybe I’ll make some mango salsa tonight!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

